Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 7th, 2009

Hello from the North Pole

Our house has been without heat for a little while. The technician is finally coming tomorrow to look at the heat pump. But in the mean time, we’ve been sitting by the fireplace, using a lot of the wood we thought would take us into the winter.

But it wasn’t until today that the temperatures really plummeted and my two pairs of socks, long underwear, and three layers just wasn’t enough.

I don’t do well in the cold, which people think is strange when they hear I grew up in Nova Scotia. When I’m cold, I lose all motivation to move or do much of anything — all my energy goes into trying to stay warm.

The upside? We’re saving some money this month. And we’re gaining a renewed appreciation for having heat. Plus there’s nothing like sitting by a roaring fire. But still, I can’t wait for this to be fixed.

Now I’m off to put on a sweater before getting under my duvee and wool blanket for the night.

Read Full Post »